ESRC Council

Members of the ESRC Council, February 2015

The role of the ESRC Council is to decide on all issues of major importance, principally issues of corporate strategy, key strategic objectives and targets. Responsibility for delivering key strategy is delegated to the Chief Executive, Professor Jane Elliott.

The Council Chair, Dr Alan Gillespie, and Council members share collective responsibility for the ESRC's performance. Members are required to observe the highest standards of impartiality, integrity and objectivity in relation to the use of public funds and management of the organisation.

The ESRC Council meets four times a year. The meetings are also attended by a representative of the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills.

The Council's Terms of Reference can be found in the ESRC Management Statement (PDF, 1.5Mb).

Council membership

The ESRC Council consists of the Chair, Chief Executive and twelve other members. Membership is reviewed annually. Appointments are advertised nationally and members are ultimately appointed by the Secretary of State for Business Innovation and Skills.

Current ESRC Council members:

Forthcoming meetings

  • 10 July 2015
  • 16 October 2015

Redacted minutes of previous meetings


For more information on the ESRC Council please contact: