The annual ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize, now in its fifth year, is an opportunity to recognise and reward researchers whose work has made a real difference to society or the economy.

The prize is awarded to ESRC-funded social science researchers or ESRC associates who have achieved impact through outstanding research, collaborative partnerships, engagement or knowledge exchange activities.

There are many different ways that social science can change our society for the better, for example by enhancing the economic competitiveness of the UK; improving public services; raising standards of living and health; contributing to the development of UK policy; driving innovation or improving management practices of businesses; helping a particular group in society; or helping societies in other countries. To reflect this diversity there are five different categories, as well as a prize for the Impact Champion - an individual who has a significant personal track record in supporting and enabling others to achieve impact.

A prize of £10,000 is awarded to the winner of each category, whilst a further prize of £10,000 is awarded to the Impact Champion.

The awards ceremony will take place at Central Hall, Westminster on the evening of 21 June 2017, where the winners will be announced.

The researchers shortlisted for the 2017 Celebrating Impact Prize are:

Outstanding Early Career Impact (in partnership with SAGE publishing)

  • Dr Harriet Thomson, University of Manchester
    Bringing fuel poverty in from the cold: addressing the knowledge and policy gaps across Europe
  • Ms Hannah Bows, Durham University
    Sexual violence against older people in the UK

Outstanding Impact in Business and Enterprise

  • Professor Nigel Driffield, Warwick University
    Understanding the benefits of inwards investment locally and nationally
  • Professor Monder Ram (and Professor Kiran Trehan), University of Birmingham
    Diversity, inclusion and facilitating change: The enterprise and diversity alliance

Outstanding Impact in Society

  • Ms Madeleine Sumption (and Carlos Vargas Silva), University of Oxford
    Informing debates on international migration and public policy
  • Professor Jane Green (team application), University of Manchester
    Unexpected political shocks: informing the public and shaping the polling industry

Outstanding International Impact

  • Professor Michael Levi, Cardiff University
    Research to reduce the global and national harm caused by organised and financial crimes
  • Professor Lucie Cluver, University of Oxford
    Social science preventing adolescent HIV in Africa

Outstanding Impact in Public Policy

  • Professor Amina Memon, Royal Holloway University
    Achieving best evidence: Fair and effective criminal justice for all victims and witnesses
  • Professor Mike Brewer, University of Essex
    Work incentives, poverty: perspectives on welfare reform
  • Dr John Gathergood, University of Nottingham
    Leading consumer financial protection policy in the UK
  • Professor Nicola McEwen (team application), Centre on Constitutional Change, University of Edinburgh
    Shaping constitutional change in the UK

Impact Champion

  • We will also be announcing our 2017 Impact Champion on the evening of 21 June.

The shortlist was selected by a panel of experts from a wide range of submissions which included written evidence from organisations that have used the research to shape their policies and practice.

This year’s panel consisted of:

  • Professor Richard Breen, Professorial Fellow, Nuffield College, University of Oxford
  • Dr Abbi Hobbs, Senior Advisor in Social Science, UK Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology
  • Dr Johannes Klumpers, Head of Scientific Advice Mechanism Unit, European Commission
  • Dr Claire McNulty, Director Science and Research, British Council
  • Professor Tony McEnery, Director of Research and International, ESRC
  • Matt Sansam, Programme Manager, Innovate UK
  • Dr Emma Weitkamp, Associate Professor in Science Communication, UWE Bristol